MYSO Board of Directors

Organizational Recognition & Stability

Strong Leadership.
Strategic Direction.

All aspects of organizational success are supported and driven by an active Board of Directors, which consists of 19 community leaders from institutions including Manpower Group, Komatsu, and Hall Leonard Corporation, among others. The Board of Directors meets bi-monthly. The Executive Committee, consisting of all Board Officers and Committee Chairs, meets in the alternating months. All Board Committees and Task Forces meet regularly, often monthly. MYSO also holds both voting and ex-officio non-voting positions on the Milwaukee Youth Arts Center (MYAC) Board of Directors, as does the MYAC’s co-founding partner, First Stage.
Young girls playing violins

Prudent Governance. Recognized Success.

The prudent governance of MYSO, along with the well-documented impact of its quality programming, has garnered local, national and international acclaim. MYSO was a 2015 National Arts and Humanities Youth Program Award winner, the highest honor of its kind for after school youth arts education programming in the nation. Representatives from the organization accepted this award from First Lady Michelle Obama in the White House’s East Room on November 17, 2015.

Honorably Mentioned. Simply Honored.

Elected officials regularly turn to MYSO to showcase the organization’s contributions to our state, including performances at Milwaukee’s State of the City address, the National Governors Association annual conference, the Wisconsin Governor’s Inauguration in 2015 and most recently, the City of Milwaukee’s Inauguration in April 2016. The Sharon Lynne Wilson Center for the Arts recently honored MYSO’s community contributions with their 2017 Educational Excellence Award.

Furthermore, the Senior Symphony is regularly recognized during its domestic and international tours, including the 2012 Summa Cum Laude International Youth Festival in Vienna, where the orchestra placed second, and in summer 2015, as the orchestra received standing ovations from full houses while performing in Austria and Hungary.

The orchestra recently completed its acclaimed and equally well-received tour to Argentina and Uruguay in July 2017. In addition, the Milwaukee Business Journal’s Eureka Award for creativity and innovative programming was awarded to MYSO in 2014.


Nathaniel Lynn
The Lynn Group


Jennifer Mattes


Mark J. Goldstein
Goldstein Law Group, S.C.


Kris Best


  • Tino Arvanetes
  • Lynn Bell
  • Richard Buchband
  • Amy Croen
  • Erik Eisenmann
  • Myra Edwards
  • Patricia A. Ellis, EdD
  • Timothy Frautschi
  • Lisa Froemming
  • Larry Hisle
  • Greg Kliebhan
  • Robert Monnat
  • Jan Wade
  • Rick Walters
  • Barbara Wanless
  • Les Weil

Receive Our Newsletter

Find joy, passion, and inspiration at MYSO.
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Scroll to Top