MYSO Tidbits

by Michelle Hoffman

Follow our amazing MYSO musicians and alums!

Alum Chosen as Commencement Speaker

Liam McLean (bass, ‘19), UW-Madison senior class president, was chosen to address the graduating class of 2023 as this spring’s UW commencement student speaker. Read more about Liam!

Alums Win Orchestra Positions

We are so excited to report that two of our alumni have recently won jobs in major U.S. symphony orchestras. Congratulations to Tabby Rhee (violin/viola, ‘17) who was named to the viola section of the New York Philharmonic. Tabby received Bachelor and Master of Music degrees from the Juilliard School in New York City.

Arianna Brusubardis (violin, ‘18) recently won an audition as a violinist with the Kansas City Symphony Orchestra. Arianna received a Bachelor of Music degree from The Juilliard School in 2022.

Spring Scholarship and Award Winners Announced

This year’s Richard Tula Memorial Scholarship was presented to Senior Symphony violinist Ben Christiaansen. Established in 2017, this scholarship celebrates the involvement and support of Richard Tula, and his beloved daughter, Chloe. It is awarded annually to an exemplary Senior Symphony musician at the end of their junior year. Chloe Tula was a MYSO harpist from 2009-2013, and is principal harpist with the Omaha Symphony.

2023’s Carrie Rondeau Memorial Scholarship recipient is Arisa Okamoto. Established to memorialize longtime MYSO musician Carrie Rondeau, this award is given annually to the winner of the Senior Symphony Concerto Competition.

Celebrating the involvement and contributions of long-time donor and former board chair Mrs. Margarete Harvey, the 2023 Margarete Harvey Scholarship honors Progressions graduates who are completing their junior or senior year and have demonstrated consistent commitment to their musical growth and success. Congratulations to Thelma-Abigail Aquino-Moreno, Michelle Drane, Jurnee Fisher, Zindzi Frederick, Shelby Gooden, Kayami Jackson, Rem Leach, Amber Moreno-Padilla, and Akilah Muhammad.

Congratulations to this year’s distinguished Dean Potokar Award recipients: Nolan Boerner, Sofia Castanho-Bollinger, Zindzi Frederick, Cecilia Koth, Joseph Lorenz, Isabella McGinley, Jennifer Mikolajczak, Ryan Nelson, Scotland Nicholson, and Noor Salameh. The award recognizes graduating seniors in our advanced ensembles who have demonstrated extraordinary leadership, professionalism, positive attitudes, and contributions to MYSO. It was established in memory of Dean Potokar, a tireless and enthusiastic supporter and member of the MYSO Board of Directors.

Give more young musicians a chance to shine! Donate today.

Related Posts

MYSO logo featured image
"Spotlight" Newsletter

MYSO Tidbits

by Michelle Hoffman Follow our amazing MYSO musicians and alums! MYSO Music Director Wins Fullbright Award Sinfonia Music Director Lauren Roznowski (‘02) has been awarded a Fulbright Distinguished

Read More »
Scroll to Top