MYSO Tidbits

by Michelle Hoffman

Congratulations to MYSO winners in the recent Civic Music High School Competition: In the vocal category: Senior Symphony member Michael Seybold. In the instrumental category: Senior Symphony members Amy Koo, Cecelia Santiago, and Grace Woo, and alumnus Jonah Kartman.

Alumnus Malik Johnson (2018) was part of Kirk Franklin’s recent Grammy award-winning album Long Live Love, as a member of the Matt Jones Orchestra. Malik was also onstage with the Matt Jones Orchestra when they performed in Kanye West’s opera, Nebuchadnezzar, at the Hollywood Bowl in Los Angeles in November.

Alumna Aruna Halala-Vishudh (1995) was recently honored by the Marcus Center for the Performing Arts as 2020’s Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Teacher of the Year for her dedication to teaching students about the life and beliefs of Dr. King. Aruna is a fifth grade teacher at Samuel Clemens Elementary School in Milwaukee.

Alumnus Julian Rhee (2018) has been awarded first prize in the 2020 Elmar Oliveira International Violin Competition, held in Boca Raton, FL. The competition is open to candidates of any nationality, between ages 16 and 32. Julian, the only American to reach the finals, also received the competition’s “Community Engagement” prize.

On January 11, MYSO held concerto competitions for six of its ensembles.

The winners are:

  • Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra: Clark Snavely, violin;
  • Philharmonia: Henry Snavely, violin;
  • Sinfonia: Lucy Wu, cello;
  • String Orchestra: Catalino Placido, bass;
  • Chamber Flute Ensemble: Shreya Girish; and
  • Flute Chorale: Marisa Lehner.

These musicians will perform as featured soloists with their ensembles this winter and spring. See for performance information and for a complete list of those recognized in our competitions.

Related Posts

MYSO logo featured image
"Spotlight" Newsletter

MYSO Tidbits

by Michelle Hoffman Follow our amazing MYSO musicians and alums! MYSO Music Director Wins Fullbright Award Sinfonia Music Director Lauren Roznowski (‘02) has been awarded a Fulbright Distinguished

Read More »
Scroll to Top