MYSO Tidbits

by Michelle Hoffman

Follow our amazing MYSO musicians!

Violinist Solos with Madison Symphony
Congratulations to Senior Symphony violinist Arisa Okamoto who took second place in this year’s Madison Symphony Orchestra Bolz Young Artist Competition. Arisa appeared as a featured soloist with the Madison Symphony and on PBS Wisconsin’s Final Forte broadcast, at the Overture Center for the Arts on March 8. In addition, Arisa was the 2023 winner of MYSO’s Senior Symphony Concerto Competition and Carrie Rondeau Memorial Scholarship. She performs the first movement of the Sibelius Violin Concerto in D minor with the Senior Symphony at the Bradley Symphony Center on May 5.

Senior Symphony Flutist MSO Stars of Tomorrow Finalist
Congratulations to Senior Symphony flutist Abhinay Reddy, named a finalist in the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra (MSO) Stars of Tomorrow Auditions. Abhinay will perform as soloist with the MSO on the Audrey G. Baird Stars of Tomorrow Concert on May 9.

MYSO Announces Ruggeri Memorial Scholarship Winners
Congratulations to Senior Symphony violists Vivian Cucu and Sonya Wilhelm, and MYSO alum Owne Xayboury, among six who received a 2023 Janet Fleming Ruggeri Memorial Scholarship for Young Viola Players. Each year MYSO encourages violists to apply for this merit-based scholarship which is in its fourth decade. Special thanks to the Ruggeri family for their continued support!

Wisconsin Philharmonic Scholarship Winners
Congratulations to the following MYSO members named Wisconsin Philharmonic 2023 Shining Stars Scholarship Winners. $750 scholarship winner: Senior Symphony violinist Sofia Castanho-Bollinger; $250 scholarship winners: Philharmonia trombonist Owen Ruck, and Senior Symphony members Jayanth Suthan, violin; and Sonya Wilhelm, viola.

Civic Music Association Announces High School Competition Winners
The Civic Music Association has announced the winners of its 2023 High School Competition. The winners performed on the organization’s High School Showcase Recital on February 12. Congratulations to Maydine Bellot, harp; Ethan Chen, violin; and Lucas LaBeau, piano!

Give more young musicians a chance to shine! Donate today.

Related Posts

MYSO logo featured image
"Spotlight" Newsletter

MYSO Tidbits

by Michelle Hoffman Follow our amazing MYSO musicians and alums! MYSO Music Director Wins Fullbright Award Sinfonia Music Director Lauren Roznowski (‘02) has been awarded a Fulbright Distinguished

Read More »
Scroll to Top