MYSO Tidbits

by Michelle Hoffman

Read about the amazing things our musicians are doing!

Congratulations to Senior Symphony flutist Shreya Girish and violinist Clark Snavely, named finalists in the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra (MSO) Stars of Tomorrow Auditions. Shreya and Clark performed as soloists with the MSO on the Audrey G. Baird Stars of Tomorrow Concert on May 5.

We are pleased to present this year’s Richard Tula Memorial Scholarship to Senior Symphony assistant concertmaster Sofia Castanho-Bollinger. Established in 2017, this scholarship celebrates the involvement and support of Richard Tula, and his beloved daughter, Chloe. It is awarded annually to an exemplary Senior Symphony musician at the end of their junior year. Chloe Tula was a MYSO harpist from 2009-2013, and was recently appointed principal harpist with the Omaha Symphony.

Congratulations to the six musicians who received a 2022 Janet Fleming Ruggeri Memorial Scholarship for Young Viola Players. Each year MYSO encourages violists to apply for this merit-based scholarship which has been in existence for more than 30 years. This year’s award winners are: Vivian Cucu, Kate Flint, Terrilaina Gillmore, Levi Stein, Sonya Wilhelm, and Owne Xayboury. Special thanks to the Ruggeri family for their continued support of these musicians!
2022’s Carrie Rondeau Memorial Scholarship recipient is Clark Snavely. Established to memorialize longtime MYSO musician Carrie Rondeau, this award is given annually to the winner of the Senior Symphony Concerto Competition.

This spring we announced the winners of the 2022 Margarete Harvey Scholarship. Celebrating the involvement and contributions of long-time donor and former board member and board chair Mrs. Margarete Harvey, this scholarship honors Progressions graduates who are completing their junior or senior year and have demonstrated consistent commitment to their musical growth and success. Congratulations to Thelma-Abigail Aquino-Moreno, Michelle Drane, Zindzi Frederick, Shelby Gooden, David Ibitoye, Amber Moreno-Padilla, and Nahsialis Vang.

Congratulations to this year’s distinguished Dean Potokar Award recipients: Devin Larmay (Chamber Flute Ensemble), Yishay Levin (Jazz Studies), Jackson Gerew (Metropolitan Symphony), Eli Hoffman, Erin Krasovich, Amy Koo, Autumn Lee, Aashay Mardikar, Luis McDougall, Cecelia Santiago, and Oscar Thompson (all in Senior Symphony). This award recognizes graduating seniors in our advanced ensembles who have demonstrated extraordinary leadership, professionalism, positive attitudes, and contributions to MYSO. It was established in memory of Dean Potokar, a tireless and enthusiastic supporter and member of the MYSO Board of Directors.

Give more young musicians a chance to shine! Donate today.

Related Posts

MYSO logo featured image
"Spotlight" Newsletter

MYSO Tidbits

by Michelle Hoffman Follow our amazing MYSO musicians and alums! MYSO Music Director Wins Fullbright Award Sinfonia Music Director Lauren Roznowski (‘02) has been awarded a Fulbright Distinguished

Read More »
Scroll to Top